What Zodiac Sign Is King of Pentacles?

If you've ever wondered about the relationship between Tarot cards and astrology, you're in for a treat. In the vast world of Tarot, each card can be associated with a zodiac sign or a planet....

What Zodiac Sign Is King of Pentacles?

If you've ever wondered about the relationship between Tarot cards and astrology, you're in for a treat. In the vast world of Tarot, each card can be associated with a zodiac sign or a planet. When it comes to the King of Pentacles, the answer is clear: it's Taurus!

Zodiac Sign: Taurus

To understand why Taurus is the perfect match for the King of Pentacles, let's delve into the mechanics of Tarot. The Pentacles suit represents the earth signs: Capricorn, Taurus, and Virgo. On the other hand, the "Kings" in Tarot represent the fixed signs: Scorpio, Leo, Aquarius, and Taurus. Combining fixed earth, we arrive at the King of Pentacles!

According to Xavier Villanova, a Tarot reader for Tarot By Maisy, Taurus embodies the qualities of the King of Pentacles. "The King of Pentacles represents a reliable, stable, wealthy, and steadfast ruler who has built his empire through sheer determination and hard work," Villanova explains. These are all traits that Taurus individuals possess. People born under this earth sign dedicate their lives to achieving financial stability, luxuries, and unwavering foundations.

In essence, the King of Pentacles personifies a Taurean's need for security, financial prosperity, and the material comfort that brings them solace.



When the King of Pentacles appears upright, it signifies a person, typically male, who is deeply rooted in their ways. They thrive on routines, knowing what lies ahead, and having control over their career, finances, and relationships. This person revels in the power to shape their own life, cherishing both modern comforts and traditional values.

Relating this to Taurus, an upright King of Pentacles embodies the more positive aspects of the zodiac sign. It represents someone with exquisite taste in possessions, food, and luxury. This individual exudes dominance and sensuality, taking the lead in intimate encounters. Furthermore, they possess the admirable Taurean qualities of patience and hard work, which define the King of Pentacles.


In a reversed position, the King of Pentacles represents someone who takes control to an extreme. This person's fear of change or immobility causes them to abruptly halt progress. They distance themselves from anyone who challenges their worldview and may even adopt a tyrannical approach to maintain the status quo.

Discussing Taurus in this context, a reversed King of Pentacles highlights the negative qualities associated with the zodiac sign. Stubbornness is a prevalent characteristic, and the person tends to resist change vehemently. They rely on brute force and aggression rather than understanding emotions or considering alternative perspectives. Additionally, because Venus, the planet of beauty, rules Taurus, a reversed King of Pentacles may exhibit obsessive materialism, struggling to prioritize matters of the heart.


Are Tarot cards related to astrology?

Absolutely! Each Tarot card is indeed linked to astrology. Every card in the deck corresponds to either a zodiac sign or a planet. For example, The Lovers card represents Gemini, and Judgment represents Pluto.

What Tarot card represents Sagittarius?

Sagittarius is represented by five cards: Temperance, Knight of Wands, 8 of Wands, 9 of Wands, and 10 of Wands. Just as we identified the Taurus cards, we can pinpoint the cards that represent Sagittarius. Being a mutable fire sign, Sagittarius aligns with the "Knights," "eights," "nines," and "tens" in the Tarot deck. As fire signs are symbolized by Wands, Sagittarius is associated with the Knight of Wands.

What zodiac sign is The World card?

The World card represents the planet of fears, restrictions, and rules: Saturn.

What Tarot cards represent which zodiac signs?

As mentioned earlier, each zodiac sign is associated with at least five Tarot cards. Here's a list of the Major Arcana card for each sign:

  • Aries — The Emperor
  • Taurus — The Hierophant
  • Gemini — The Lovers
  • Cancer — The Chariot
  • Leo — Strength
  • Virgo — The Hermit
  • Libra — Justice
  • Scorpio — Death
  • Sagittarius — Temperance
  • Capricorn — The Devil
  • Aquarius — The Star
  • Pisces — The Moon

Related Articles:

  • Are Tarot Cards Cursed or Bad In Any Way?
  • How to Shuffle Tarot Cards
  • Can You Buy Your Own Tarot Deck?